Skip to content

Enemy’s Camp

August 11, 2007

This past Sunday our pastor was out of town, so my buddy Jeremy got to preach. You can listen to it here. One of the subjects he touched on was the biblical theology of stones – often the Bible uses stone and rocks to symbolically point us to Christ. For example, Jesus is the chief cornerstone. One of the things that Jeremy said that I really liked was that Jesus is the stone that breaks everyone: the wicked will be crushed by the Rock or the righteous will be broken when they throw themselves upon the Rock of salvation. This is an awesome picture of spiritual warfare. As the church grows, the enemy is defeated one way or the other – they are destroyed or regenerated – and leading the attack is the Rock of Ages, leading His bride in battle, crushing heads and “taking prisoners.”

The real point of this post, though, is in regards to another thing Jeremy said in his sermon. As he was talking about Jesus as the rock that crushes His enemies, he referred to Genesis 3, where the seed of the woman will crush the head of the serpent. This, again, points us to a picture of Jesus as a mighty rock. And ultimately, this is what happened on the cross, when Jesus was crucified on the rock (Golgotha) – crushing the head of the serpent.

As Christians, we are to mimic our Savior – and this means we are to continue crushing the head of Satan. The ultimate blow was struck on the cross, and the final blow will be struck when Christ returns. Until then, we are to continue stomping on the head of the serpent every chance we get. Toward the end of the sermon, when application was made, Jeremy first spoke directly to the children by asking them, “how many of you want to crush Satan’s head?” Of course all the children raised their hand and excitedly said “I do!” He told them that this happens everytime they follow Christ, obey their parents, are kind to their siblings, etc.

This got me thinking about  a song that was popular in youth circles a few years back called “Enemy’s Camp.” A couple of bands did this song at some youth events and camps I worked at, and everyone in my circle of friends – including myself – hated this song. The lyrics go:

Verse

I went to the Enemy’s camp, and I took back what he stole from me. (Repeat)

Chorus

Well, he’s under my feet, he’s under my feet, he’s under my feet, he’s under my feet, he’s under my feet, he’s under my feet, Satan is under my feet.

As you can see, it’s not particulary deep, but what us “reformed” types really hated about it was that it seemed to leave Jesus out of the mix. It was all about what we can do in our power. And there probably is some truth to this – I’m not really sure where this song originated, but it is popular in pentecostal circles. But I always secretly harbored a love for this song because it was fun and upbeat, and during the chorus, everyone jumps up and down like their stomping on Satan.

 Recently I’ve been teaching my girls a lot of fun songs with motions and “Enemy’s Camp” is one of the songs we play. And they love it. And you know what? I love it too. Because it’s a fun way to teach my girls to be “head crushers.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

