Skip to content

Adventures in VBAC

August 20, 2007

My search continues for a doula support person. I have found the following resource that has been encouraging.  Portions of her blog is this woman’s quest for VBAC options.  We are in ’email communication’ with a doula in the area that comes highly recommended and she is helping us with some options for our delivery.  We shall keep you posted.  One nice thing is that for this delivery, my mom will be available to attend.  She plans on arriving here once I am a reported 3cm dialated or when I feel ‘its time’.  I am so grateful for her and look forward to her having a wonderful experience with us and Lucy for this next delivery.  I have been having at least one braxton hicks contraction a day for about a week. That is exciting!  It is just enough to make me pause, have a sinking feeling in my throat, and then my belly tightens up all around.  I am continually amazed at how our bodies work, how intricate we are.  I really have been intrigued with the whole birthing process.  I would like to consider offerring my services as a doula to women in the area once my girls are grown and I get some certified training.  I just want women to be fully educated about their birthing options and that it can be a wonderful experience and not some mere medical transaction that is basically treated like an illness.  I AM NOT ILL!  This, of course, steming from recent readings from that aforementioned blog.

mollyis4.jpgOn a side note…all went well with Molly’s bday party.  I have pics to post shortly on shutterfly, but too tired to do them now.  We had a great turnout of friends and family and the Lord saw fit to bring us much needed rain, rather a monsoon, at the very start of our outdoor party.  Not that it dampered our spirits a bit! 🙂  I will talk more later on all that.  All visiting family is now gone home and we get to start our ‘routine’ at home.  Getting back into the normal mode.  I still get to look forward to Katie’s birthday!!  She will turn 2 on 9/19.  We are definitely not doing a similar event for her- mainly because she becomes quite daunted at that kind of crowd. We shall see what we come up with.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. deedeejay permalink
    August 21, 2007 3:24 pm

    Oh I would sooooo use you as my doula if I decide to do natural childbirth! You would be awesome!

  2. August 21, 2007 9:23 pm

    Okay, so even though I have had 2 kids, I still don’t exactly know what a doula is or does. Is it someone you only use if you are planning a natural childbirth? If so, why do you need them – doesn’t your doctor still deliver the baby? Just curious. I have heard of them, but don’t know anything about them.

  3. August 22, 2007 7:33 am

    GOOD QUESTION!!! Here is a good definition from the dictionary to simplify things:
    Merriam-Webster’s Medical Dictionary
    Main Entry: dou·la Pronunciation: ‘dü-la Function: noun
    : a woman experienced in childbirth who provides advice, information, and emotional support to a mother before, during, and just after childbirth

    I would refer you also to a book available in the library that really helped me in understanding the differences in a doula and a midwife and many many statistics as to why a doula is helpful in your delivery- drugs or not…

    Title : The doula book : how a trained labor companion can help you have a shorter, easier, and healthier birth
    Author : Klaus, Marshall H., 1927-
    Publisher, Date : Cambridge, MA : Perseus Pub., c2002.
    ISBN : 0738206091 (pbk.)

    My focus is not the post care, but the actual labor process that I am looking for help on. Someone that is currently experienced on childbirthing to help get us through the aspects of labor and help me and my hubby understand what is normal even in the midst of what seems chaos. Sometimes when you are in a stressfull situation (medically) it helps to have a 3rd party involved that understands your desires about how you would like your experience to go and is not so attached like a Mom or a sister. She is not one that is involved medically, she basically just helps to translate what is going on and can help keep your birth plan on track. Of course if there is some kind of medical emergency she can help the spouse cope and understand or even realize what is happening and needs immediate attention since she is your 1 on 1 attendant. Most hospitals today cannot provide that 1 on 1 care and during a shift change you can basically feel abandoned while they ‘catch’ up. Hope this helps.

    In the old days these type of women were readily and widely used and mostly interchangabley as midwives since male doctors didn’t become as involved until more recently.

  4. August 22, 2007 11:46 am

    Okay, that definitely clarifies it for me. Wow! Wish I had known about that when I was having my first – things might have gone a whole lot different!! Well, good luck in finding someone that you like – it sounds like it will be awesome to have someone like that in the delivery room with you. Can’t wait to hear more about it!!

  5. emvest permalink
    August 25, 2007 6:50 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Good luck as you search for a good doula match for your upcoming birth.

    Blessings,
    Erin

Leave a Reply

