Skip to content

At the Hospital Part 2 of 2

November 26, 2007

Now, I am not quite sure how to minimize this section so that it is not all displayed on the screen, so bear with me as this will probably be a long one. 🙂

We arrive at the hospital at a few minutes 7am.  Brian jumps out of the van so fast he forgets to unlock the doors so that the large man with the wheelchair can get to me and Brian is waivering back and forth about whether to walk around to the driver’s side and hit the button.  He was worried about locking the keys in the car as he did that once and was a pain to get a locksmith and such.  My mom said she wouldn’t leave the car until he was back in.  I manage to unlock the door and fall into the wheelchair.  There is a woman standing just inside the door and she grabs the chair and practically runs to the Labor & Delivery on the 4th floor.  Mom is coming along behind all the while I am having very intense contractions and wondering how much longer do I have to sit as this is VERY uncomfortable.  We get into the triage room and I decide to potty one more time before getting into the bed and change into the gown at the same time.  The staff start asking me questions to get me into the system and they quickly realize that I am not really able to answer them as quickly as they need to get through so they say that anyone can answer the questions.  Glad that both Mom and Brian were there to get through all that.  They check me as soon as I am in the bed and I realize when she enters that everything feels very soft and squishy.  I figured that had to be a good thing since when the doc had checked me every other time it was very tight- even the day before!  So she calls out that I am at 8 cm!!!  I say Hallelujah! Thank you God!  I had been thinking that if I was a 4 or 5 cm that I would be in trouble as this was really intense and strong!  I was soooo glad.  Mind you we didn’t want to be travelling while I was at that point, but hey it all worked out, right?  I began to think, maybe I wasn’t crazy afterall for attempting this!? This was shift change and so the staff was trying to figure out who was going to take over and Dr. D was in transit and they didn’t know if he was going to make it in time.  They called in the doc on call from the practice and sure enough?!  It was Dr. B- your remember, the one that I wrote about earlier?  I thought to myself, Oh you poor thing- to get thrown in here with me?!  Thank goodness that Dr. D showed up shortly after and took great care of us.  He took charge well and remained calm even when the nurses were having trouble locating the baby’s heartbeat.  They kept replacing the belt on me since it wouldn’t register right after a couple of times.  He claimed it was head compression and that he was not concerned since they had a couple of good reads. 

I was amused that the staff kept asking me to move my leg here, hold my hand in this position, and scoot over.  I was incapable of complying with any of their requests as all my energy and focus was completly towards the contractions that were coming quickly and VERY strong.  I didn’t have naseau anymore since we had gotten out of the car, but quickly felt the urge to push.  The staff checked me again and said I could push at any time that I wanted.  I felt something coming out at one point when I was on my side and they check and guess what the surprise was??  Not the baby 🙂 ladies, and not the water :).  Anyways they cleaned me up and had me sit up and they put my legs up into the stirrups which went under my calves.  Was not expecting that.  I was thinking your feet went in or something, but it really gave me a shorter canal that I had to push through.  I was looking for my Mom to be in my face keeping my eyes open which I didn’t want to do.  I kept wanting to fall asleep in to some kind of coma in between the contractions.  When I closed my eyes I would loose focus and mess up my breathing. They did end up putting an oxygen mask on me to help get better oxygen and breathe more effectively.  I was also looking for Brian to be at my back pressing my hips through the contractions.  At one point someone was tilting my hips just right and it felt sooo good! I was like ‘who is doing that?!’  And it was Valerie, my doula!  She had arrived and I didn’t even realize it.  She helped Brian know what was normal through the process and reminded us of the relief techniques to use.  Time seemed to stand still while I was going through this.  When it got to the pushing part someone pushed me forward and they had me hold my breath and push like going to the bathroom to get her out.  The doc kept saying push right here and I couldn’t figure out what he was talking about until after about 3 pushes he said ‘push down and up towards the ceiling’ and for some reason that made sense to me and it worked.  It took about another 2 pushes and she popped out!  As she was crowning he popped the bag of waters which relieved a lot of pressure.  There was another pop when he pulled her shoulders out and I was in disbelief!  He held her by her jaw line at the back of her head and she dangled there like a cat in silence.  She was just looking around kinda taking roll of who all was in the room.  He dropped her down on my stomach and Lucy lifted her head to look at me.  I was so amazed and couldn’t believe what had just happened and how immediate the pain had ceased! I smacked her a couple of times on the hiney and asked her if she had anything to say… she had a few cries that she let out, but nothing like the previous two screaming the moment they came out ear pearcing!  Amazing, amazing, amazing.  That is all I can say.  I am so grateful that the Lord allowed me to complete this task and how he comforted me throughout. To God be the glory!! 

BTW- Here we are at week 4 and Mama and baby are doing well.  Over the thrush and nursing well.  Lucy is quite efficient nursing about 10min a session and down to about 5 sittings a day.  She also sleeps about 6-9 hours a night!  AMEN for that.  I have to say that God has been so generous to me considering I am still chasing after the other two munchkins.  What great enthusiastic helpers they are!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. WonderGirl permalink
    November 27, 2007 9:27 am

    Oh, so excited for Part 2!! What a wonderful story. I know you had an extraspecial Thanksgiving this year, and this was a big part of why! 🙂

  2. November 27, 2007 2:55 pm

    Wow! What an amazing story! You are an amazing woman for going through all that. I can’t believe you had thrush again!!!! But, I’m glad that you are over it. So glad to hear that you are doing well……we want to see some more pictures of the cutie!!!

  3. Glenn LaRue permalink
    December 1, 2007 7:55 pm

    I loved the story! I’ve been waiting for Part 2! I’m so curious to go natural next time around, too. I’m super glad it worked out for you. What an awesome experience, huh? When Jenny was born, I actually watched the whole thing in a mirror. I loved it. It’s what keeps me wanting more babies! Of course, I’ve never felt all that pain. With Jenny, the contractions didn’t get too bad until I was about 5-6 centimeters (and they were pretty tolerable then, too). When my water broke, the pushing came pretty quickly. All this to say, I feel I could possibly handle the pain. The doctor thought so, too. Dr. Pridham actually delivered Jenny. Do you remember him? I was encouraged to know that the pain went away as soon as Lucy came out!!! Did you have any tearing?

    Amy

  4. December 1, 2007 9:57 pm

    Yes ma’am WG!

    Erin- I sure hope to get some more posted soon. It is amazing how much she has grown in the past couple of weeks. So chuncky in the cheeks!

    Amy- It was great! I know you could do it! Just set your mind to and it will be so! God will give you the strength. I do remember Dr. P. I had minimal tearing. I felt the burning when it happened, but I was so focused on her head coming out that I didn’t even care! 🙂 Plus the pain meds they gave me were quite good and so I didn’t feel it afterwards. The swelling was the wierdest thing.

    Surprisingly the contractions to condense my uterus after everything was over were very intense! I was quite surprised and had to stop talking to folks and focus breathing through them. The ibprofen (sp?) really helped to ease that discomfort. It was immediately after everyone left the room and during and after breastfeeding while in the hospital.

    Thanks for reading and commenting! It is so encouraging to hear from you! Love you.

Leave a Reply

