Skip to content

We Will Miss You, Grandma

May 25, 2008

Denise’s stepmom, Connie, died this past week. It appears that she died suddenly and peacefully in her sleep, which we praise God for. We were close to her, even though she lived many miles away in Oregon. Denise will be flying out there with her sister this week to help with the funeral arrangements and other things that have to be sorted out. We wanted to let everyone know this so that they can be praying for Denise and the rest of the family, as it will be a difficult week.

Connie was very special to us. As Denise and I have been talking about her and recalling special memories, one word in particular keep coming up: Perserverance. Life has not always been easy on Connie. She moved back to Oregon a few years ago to take care of her elderly parents and the last two years have seen her mother succumb to Alzeihmer’s and placed in a nursing home and the death of her father. Yet she perservered. We know this in many ways, but especially in the fact that she continued to take care of the family farm and document her everyday life in letters to her grandchildren on a weekly basis. Every week Molly, Katie, and Lucy would get letters addressed to them from Grandma telling them about how the horses were doing, or how the apples trees were blooming, or what vegetables she planted that day, or what her dogs were chasing after. Just day to day stuff that made the girls feel like they were a part of her life… which is difficult when you’re so far away. But it made a difference. Everyday when we check the mail they ask “Is there a letter from Grandma?”… and usually there were – 3 or 4 pages, with plenty of stickers. Me? I just looked forward to the delicious jams she would send us that she had made from her own garden.

The legacy she leaves behind is a unique one, and full of faith. While we will always have the letters she wrote, the recipes she shared with us, the quilts she made us, and the pictures of our time together, I pray that in our life, and in our children’s lives especially, we can follow her example of perserverance and to show other’s that love is active, whether it’s in the ink of a thoughtful letter, the stitch of a quilt, meeting the physical needs of another, or loving someone as if they were you’re own. We miss you, Grandma, but we know we will see you again. Praise the Lord.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 30, 2008 11:47 am

    I know I’m a little behind, but I will be praying for your family during this time. As I read this post, Psalm 79 came to my mind, especially verses 17-18. I hope that it will encourage you!

    14 But as for me, I will always have hope;
    I will praise you more and more.

    15 My mouth will tell of your righteousness,
    of your salvation all day long,
    though I know not its measure.

    16 I will come and proclaim your mighty acts, O Sovereign LORD;
    I will proclaim your righteousness, yours alone.

    17 Since my youth, O God, you have taught me,
    and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds.

    18 Even when I am old and gray,
    do not forsake me, O God,
    till I declare your power to the next generation,
    your might to all who are to come.

    19 Your righteousness reaches to the skies, O God,
    you who have done great things.
    Who, O God, is like you?

    20 Though you have made me see troubles, many and bitter,
    you will restore my life again;
    from the depths of the earth
    you will again bring me up.

    21 You will increase my honor
    and comfort me once again.

Leave a Reply

