Skip to content

The Time For Fasting is Fast Approaching

February 23, 2009

pancakeWell, it’s that time of year again. Tomorrow is Shrove Tuesday, and Wednesday begins the season of Lent. I was re-reading a couple of posts I wrote a couple of years ago on the Lenten season…. if you’re interested they’re here and here. If you’re still wondering about the roots of the Pancake feast that is historically celebrated on Shrove Tuesday I have an answer: Many of the ingredients that used to make pancakes – flour, eggs, etc. – are items that were commonly fasted during Lent. Therefore, the pancake feast began as a way to clean the house of these items – thereby removing temptations, as well as creating an excuse to party! Sounds good to me. Also, as an update to my Ash Wednesday post, I had mentioned that I was unable to attend my church’s Ash Wednesday service. Well, that was two years ago and I was able to attend last year. It was pretty awesome. Our whole family participated, kneeling together at the railing and receiving the sign of the cross on our foreheads. Even little Lucy participated, which was special. We also participated in fasting as a family. We plan on doing it again this year. At the risk of crossing the fine line between accountability/encouragement and boasting, I’d be interested in reading what some of the items you have either fasted from in the past or would like to fast from in the future. We’re contemplating fasting from sweets, which would be extremely hard. It seems easy enough in light of the fast that Jesus undertook in the wilderness, but the girl scouts are out in full force with their evil temptations of samoa’s, thin mints, and tagalongs. I’m not sure I’m strong enough.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Billie permalink
    February 25, 2009 12:16 pm

    Nothing evil about girl scout cookies! Good gifts that God in His grace has given us! But I’m right there with you–fasting from sweets is mighty hard! Ice cream is my primary calcium source as of late, I’m afraid!

  2. February 25, 2009 7:52 pm

    with a few pickles?

  3. February 26, 2009 3:54 pm

    What presby church has you at the rail with ashes on your head?! Are you presby anymore?

    Not to sound impious, but along with the Swiss Reformed I think I’ll still have my sausages. In truth, however, I need no food fasting. Rather (and at the risk of sound pious), I need to fast from an, ahem, certain impropriety, and have used the start of this Lenten season to strive so to do (and, I hope, thereafter).

    • February 26, 2009 9:17 pm

      Don’t worry, you don’t sound impious… you may smell a little impious, but not much….
      Actually, we’re still presbies, but with a high appreciation for church tradition – even if it’s the tradition of other denoms 🙂 we like to mix in a healthy dose of physical with our spiritual… call us crazy…or call us catholic… just don’t call us crazy Catholics!

  4. February 27, 2009 9:10 am

    Yeah, I’m still at St. Andrew’s, teaching regularly and whatnot. But I’m always sneaking off to early morning Masses, Ash Wednesday liturgies and the like at the cathedral downtown whenever I’m able.

Leave a Reply

